Spring has sprung…

…or so they say. This weekend the clocks went forwards, and that’s always one of my favourite days. I love the fact the days are getting longer and the weather is, allegedly, getting warmer. This year, it’s met with a little reluctance though.

Traditionally, I have done most of my writing over the winter. The weather is cold, and it’s unpleasant to be in the garden – or indeed outside a lot of the time – and so I tend to huddle up and work on my next book, ready to crack on in the garden when the spring comes.

I haven’t done anything of the sort this winter, though, which is the reason for the reluctance. I don’t feel I’ve used the dark days and early nights very effectively writing-wise this year! I am still about a fifth of the way through a Padcock book, and it’s not growing at all.  I have to start asking myself if the story I started out with is really ‘working’. I’ve come to the conclusion it’s maybe not! I do tend to do this with books – I will stop for a while and then go back to them when they’ve unravelled enough in my head. But this one remains firmly knotted. I like bits of it. I really like other bits of it. But it’s not doing anything else right now, so I think I need to have a good look at it and see what I can do to move it forwards.

I have, though, completed the edits on the next Schubert book, Bea’s Magical Summer Garden, which is due out in April. Again, this was one that didn’t grab me to start with and I struggled; being honest, I struggled to keep Schubert out of it! Once I gave in and let him rampage as he saw fit, it worked and I love the finished product!

I do sometimes crossover my series, and eagle eyed readers may spot the fleeting mention of someone who was in a Padcock book in the new Schubert book; but I’m not giving away any information. Hopefully it’ll be an “aha!” moment if you spot it! In that vein, I wonder whether Schubert needs a holiday to the South Downs to make this new one work…? Somehow, I don’t think that’s the answer, though – but can you imagine how much fun he’d have with the inhabitants of Padcock if he did go there for a short break. I actually think he and Edie would get on famously! It’s maybe worth a fun novella at some point; perhaps when I’ve finished writing a ‘proper’ book though…

Leave a comment