Where Terry Lynn Writes

Today, I’m delighted to have lovely transatlantic author Terry Lynn Thomas on my blog chatting about where she likes to write. Terry Lynn has a penchant for Victoria Holt novels, Mary Stewart novels and old cemeteries  -so of course I’m going to get along with her just fine! And you know how I love to nose around people’s writing spaces, so here we go:

Hello Terry Lynn, thanks for sharing your writing secrets today!

Thanks for hosting me. Fun!

Tell me where your favourite places are to write – I guess this beautiful desk is one of them. But where else do you work?

Terry1

I love writing in my bed, in the morning, while drinking coffee. I think the saying that writers have more pajamas than street clothes is true!

I must confess, I also write in bed with my laptop!  What’s particularly special about that writing space? Apart from the fact I know your pup likes to snuggle in and keep you company.

I love writing in bed. It’s my absolute favorite thing. Our bedroom has a big window as well, and we have our hummingbird feeder right out the window. I love watching the birds. 

Your chair looks very cosy. Is it a particularly nice corner of the room? What’s nearby?

Terry2

My husband and I live in a 1,200 square foot condo, so we have a rather small living space. That chair is my second favorite spot to write. I’ve written at a desk my entire life, and am so grateful for laptops! So that’s in my living room. The kitchen is off to the right and to the left is a lovely big window, which looks out onto two crepe myrtles that have fluffy white blooms.

I spy coasters! What is your drink and snack of choice when you are writing? (I ask everyone this question!)

I am one of those people who needs coffee immediately when I wake up. I make myself a small pot and drink the whole thing. Since I do a lot of writing first thing in the morning. that’s usually what I’m sipping. Although if it’s after 5:00, I might be sipping on a G&T and/or a glass of wine.

And now tell me about your pups and your lovely horse.

I have two dogs, Suzy and Lucky. They are both rescues, and they are my writing mascots. Suzy likes to stay with me on the bed, and is the first one to take my spot when I jump up to refill coffee. Lucky is getting old, so he spends most of his time on the floor. Dusty is my horse. He used to live in my backyard, but now lives with a good friend, who has other horses. I only ride him once or twice a week. I miss having him in the yard! He’s super smart. We got him as a two-year-old and I broke him myself. I love trail riding in the woods, and often think how fun it would be have horses as the main mode of transportation. I would love to ride Dusty to the day job!

Where do you find your inspiration for your stories?  They are very Gothic and ghostly.

As you know, I do have a penchant for old cemeteries. I see stories in everything. I always start out with a crazy what-if idea that usually comes to me when I’m riding my horse or walking my dogs. I come up with the beginning and the end, and then use my creativity to fill  in the middle. So the short answer to your question is that I get my stories from this crazy world.

What I particularly love about your covers are the subtle images of ghosts on them. Do you believe in ghosts yourself?

I am a confirmed skeptic, but I have had a couple of strange experiences in the paranormal realm. Although I write ghost stories, I don’t think it’s healthy to court those who have crossed over. In fact, I think it can be dangerous. I love ghosts as a launching pad for story, and a way to introduce conflict into my plots. I also love the gothic tone that a ghost (or the promise of a ghost) can add to a story. So do I believe in ghosts? I think it’s very possible that the veil between the worlds of the living and the dead can grow thin for certain people or during certain times of year. I have always paid attention to that feeling of goose bumps on the back of my neck. But I am not going to jump to the “it must be haunted” conclusion without an investigation.

And finally, what are you currently working on? And do you think you’ll be working on it in your chair, your bed or somewhere else?

I am going to self-publish the third book in the Sarah Bennett Mystery Series sometime this summer…not quite sure yet. I have a fourth novella finished, which is a new series set in 1937 Cumberland. There are no ghosts in these stories, just a feisty heroine and her handsome neighbor. I’ll have news about those books in the next month or so, so stay tuned.

Thanks for hosting me, Kirsty.

My pleasure, Terry Lynn! Thank you so much for dropping by.

About Terry Lynn Thomas

Terry Lynn Thomas grew up the San Francisco Bay Area, which explains her love of foggy beaches, windy dunes, and gothic mysteries. When her husband promised to buy Terry a horse and the time to write if she moved to Mississippi with him, she jumped at the chance. Although she had written several novels and screenplays prior to 2006, after she relocated to the South she set out to write in earnest and has never looked back.

Now Terry Lynn writes the Sarah Bennett Mysteries, set on the California coast during the 1940s, which feature a misunderstood medium in love with a spy. She also pens the Cat Carlisle Mysteries, a series of novellas set in 1930s Cumberland, which feature a feisty middle-aged woman who can’t seem to stay out of trouble.

When she’s not writing, you can find Terry Lynn riding her horse, walking in the woods with her dogs, or visiting old cemeteries in search of story ideas.

You can also find her on her website http://terrylynnthomas.com/ which also includes buy-links to her books on all the different platforms.

 

Leave a Reply

