Blog Hopping Again…

Thanks to the lovely Sue Moorcroft, whose wonderful blog you can find at https://suemoorcroft.wordpress.com/  I have been invited to take part in a Blog Hop. I’ll write a little bit about a few topics – I’ve added some different ones to the list that Sue did –  then pose those topics to some other people. At the end I will direct you to their blogs so you can read all about them as well. They are all worth a look, I promise.

But first, my topics…

First Memory

I think this is probably a memory I have from toddlerhood, which relates to my pets – Kim, our mongrel dog (when mongrel dogs were proper mongrels and not hybrids appended with “poo”) and Peter, our budgie. I was sitting on the floor in between the dog and the birdcage, and I was eating an orange. Well – to be fair, I was sharing my orange with my pets. I was squeezing the juice into Peter’s cage, then holding out the freshly-squeezed orange segment to Kim so she could have a lick of it – and maybe a little chew – then transferring the segment back to myself and shoving it in my mouth so I could finish it off. Yummy.

Favourite Books

Ahhh my favourite book is Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights. Anybody who knows me will know that I’ve been obsessed with this book since I first read it in my teens. I want to write something equally as Gothic. I keep saying if I could write something that people would be interested in two hundred years in the future, I’d  be happy. Wuthering Heights is not a love story. It is actually a horrible, nasty, dark piece of literature which is extremely cleverly written – but not everybody realises that.  Emily Brontë, I salute you.

Writing

I love writing paranormal stories and also, quite at the other end of the spectrum, quirky short stories for publications such as Weekly News – they are always fun to write and nice to rattle off if I need a break from ghosts and the like. I’ve also written non-fiction articles, usually with a ghostly aspect to them, and gathered a collection of some I had published in Ghost Voices magazine into a book about the paranormal north east of England. I’ve written for years. I always loved English at school – writing “stuff”, along with art, was homework that was a pleasure to do!

Inspiration

This comes from absolutely anywhere. Coffee shops and their customers are a great source for sparking the short stories off, but my longer pieces can be inspired by anything. Just take a look at the blog posts I’ve done for some examples; poems, paintings, photographs, people, places – lots of things, really. I’ll let it all sit for a while then, when it starts coming together and the  budding story and the potential characters keep me awake at nights, I know it’s time to start a new project.

Guilty Pleasures.

What can I say? I make no apologies. I’m female. I love Colin Firth as Mr Darcy and Aidan Turner as…well, as anything really. I also love wine and chocolate and Saturday nights with a takeaway and a good DVD after a long hot bubble bath. Small pleasures – are they guilty enough? I don’t know. But I like them anyway!

And, for the final part of the Blog Hop, I’m now going to suggest you hop over to see my friends on these other blogs and see what they have to say. Enjoy! I’ve listed them alphabetically for you:

Mary P Thornburg http://www.marypattersonthornburg.com/

Kirsty White https://kirstywhite33.wordpress.com

7 thoughts on “Blog Hopping Again…

  1. Wuthering Heights! Yes — that’s on my list too. And you’re right, it’s not a love story… maybe an obsession story. Dark, tormented, terrific in the real sense of that word! (And which of the “tellers” of the story is to be trusted?) It’s one of the most Gothic of Gothic novels. Thanks, Kirsty!

  2. I’ve never thought that ‘Wuthering Heights’ was a lovely story, either. Heathcliff is not my idea of a hero … But Aidan Turner? Sorry, Kirsty, you’ll have to share. 🙂 xx

  3. I’m with you, Kirsty, Aidan Turner as anything at all gets my vote. As Heathcliff – oooooh yessss please! (Loved him as Mitchell in Being Human.)
    Wuthering Heights is one of my faves too, although I always wanted to kill Cathy – horrible selfish manipulative shrew. But maybe that was the point? Great post. xx

Leave a Reply

